~ Warning! Spoilers! Movie Review/Book Comparison: “The Hate U Give” (2018) ~

REVIEW

Two days ago, I went to watch “The Hate U Give” with my friend who also read the book. Although I personally think the book is better because the movie understandably couldn’t include all the little details the book has, the movie itself was still amazing. The casting was terrific and the storytelling was excellent. I wasn’t prepared for how emotional I was going to get.

The movie starts off with Starr’s father giving her and her siblings the talk about what to do if they are ever pulled over by cops setting the tone for the movie. The interaction between the kids and their father and their father with their mother was just such a smart way to introduce the audience to the family dynamic.

There is so much I want to say about the movie. I could break down my feelings for each and every scene, but that would be too long. Also, as someone who read the book last year, I have a lot to say, but I’ll try to bring up only the stuff that moved me the most.

Firstly, the scene of Maverick getting arrested in front of his family really broke me. There was just so much disappointment, fear, and vulnerability which just killed me. There was so much going on and so much to digest; this was definitely my biggest takeaway.

The movie follows the book very closely. It was a solid adaptation, and I really mean it. Obviously, it couldn’t include all the details such as Khalil’s full backstory, the look into the relationship between Lisa and Maverick Carter, etc. I think all the changes the film made really fit with the movie such as the family staying in Garden Heights and King getting arrested for the fire, etc. These are all minor changes, but one of the biggest addition is when Sekani takes Maverick’s gun and aims it at King while the cops arrive. Oh shit, that scene was so powerful and I was just so overcome with emotions. TJ Wright is the child actor who plays Sekani and he is so amazingly talented. I mentioned before that the casting was superb but Sekani, Starr, and Khalil especially. My friend mentioned that KJ Apa isn’t how she pictured Charlie, but I also know that he was added on later/changed so he had his work cut out for him and delivered. Like I said, this movie adaptation was truly well done and contained a very happy and hopeful ending and although my pessimistic self doubts it, it’s still a nice message. That reminds me, the movie added an extra layer of love between Khalil and Starr especially with them sharing a kiss in the car. That was some serious emotions manipulation, so when I saw him in that scene sitting with the grand jury with his dimpled smile, my heart broke a little again.

Seriously, this movie was just so powerful and had so many ups and downs. It contains many important themes and messages and I hope everyone will watch it. The protesting scenes were also very well executed. I had some issues with the inner monologue here and there. I felt that it chopped up the scenes a bit, but it wasn’t a big deal. I was also sad to not see Maya’s small little plot, but honestly, I wasn’t expecting it. This is really not a thing.

Overall, this movie is a must watch and when I was watching it, the theater was kind of empty which made me sad. I think more people need to flood to the theaters and watch this movie and talk about it. That’s my biggest hope. I give this movie all the stars for being brave, powerful, emotional, and for being a story which needs to be told.


Side-note: It’s very interesting watching the press/interviews for “The Hate U Give”. There was a lot of white interviewers out there, and it’s intriguing to see what questions get asked and how deep the interview gets and how much understanding can be provided. Truthfully, this is me digging too deep. I’ll stop and leave you alone now to go see this movie in theaters!