Booktube-a-thon 2017 Wrap Up

If you haven’t yet, you can check out my TBR for booktube-a-thon before reading this overview. Booktube-A-Thon 2017 TBR


Day 1: After work, I planned on reading following dinner and getting some writing done. However, I ended up falling asleep in front of my laptop. I guess I was more tired than I thought, or my own writing is boring me, which is not a good sign. To sum up day one, I didn’t read a thing and didn’t get any writing done at all. It was extremely unproductive.

Day 2: I read a few pages of Clockwork Angel after work and then got distracted by everything else and ended up watching an old Hong Kong martial arts comedic movie with my daddy. It was a great bonding experience with my daddy, but it meant that I barely made a dent in my reading…

Day 3: I didn’t have work today, so I thought this would be the day I get the most reading done. At first, my parents wanted to use their coupon for this buffet at the mall. So, that’s where I went after waking up and lying in bed watching Youtube videos. After eating, the three of us walked around the mall before coming home. When I got back home, I dived back into Clockwork Angel. However, I probably had major food coma or something because I ended up napping instead of reading. After my nap, I thought it was best to try another book. Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda is the book I am reading during my break time at work. I haven’t gotten far into it since I don’t break alone often and my break is quite short. Nonetheless, I finished it today! The book was a chill, light, enjoyable read. I left off on chapter eight which is page 76 before bringing it home, and the book is only 303 pages long. Thus, I didn’t read as much as I expected, but at least, I finished one book.

Day 4: Work wasn’t busy today, but I had to drive around to different locations, so I didn’t have a proper lunch break to eat and read. However, I used my 15-minute afternoon break to start A New Model by: Ashley Graham. This fabulous human being is my role model, and I am so proud to own her book. I only had several minutes to read it, but I loved it right from the beginning. I could feel her talking to me and being very real. At home, I wrote my review for Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda and continued reading A New Model. It isn’t a long book at all and there are a few pages dedicated to pictures. I got about halfway before hitting the sack. I can probably finish it up tomorrow which would be totally awesome because that would mean that I finished two books for booktube-a-thon.

Day 5: During my lunch break, I continued reading A New Model. I was breezing through it and thought I would finish it once I got home. When I was home, I ate dinner, used my computer, and exercised. After that, I ended up knocking out instead of reading. I’m a pathetic reader…

Day 6: I finally read the last few pages of A New Model which means I finished my second book for booktube-a-thon. YAY! Then after work, Costco, and meeting up with a friend, I finished Sailor Moon volume 6 before bed. Boo-yah! I don’t know if manga is considered a book or not, but I’ll count it as my third book finished for booktube-a-thon. Tomorrow is the last day, and I definitely don’t think I can complete my TBR; that’s alright though. Tomorrow, I will try my best to read Sailor Moon volume 7 outside and make a bigger dent in a Clockwork Angel.

Day 7: Today is the last day of Booktube-a-thon. I drafted my review for A New Model last night and wrote my review for Sailor Moon volume 6 today. In addition, I ate ramen, hung out with some friends, and went to bed with Sailor Moon volume 7 in my hand. I did not end up reading it outside, but I did finish it. This means I finished four books for booktube-a-thon. YEA!


Reflection: Instead of the seven books I planned on my TBR, I only managed to finish four. Though they were all short books, I thought this was still a pretty awesome feat especially since I decided to participate in this extremely last minute and wasn’t really putting in extra effort into reading.  This is my first read-a-thon and my first time creating a TBR. It ended up being a learning experience; I’ve realized now that read-a-thons actually motivate me to read more than I usually do which is great. Overall, it was a nice experience and I am enjoying all the videos of it on Youtube. I might participate again next year.


All four books I finished for booktube-a-thon have or will have reviews. I will link them here as they post.
Book Review: Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Book Review: A New Model – What Confidence, Beauty, and Power Really Look Like
Manga Review: Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon vol. 6

  

Leave a Reply

