Movie Review: “The Legend of Drunken Master” aka “Drunken Master II”

~ Spoiler Free Movie Review: “The Legend of Drunken Master” aka “Drunken Master II” (1994) ~

SUMMARY

          “Drunken Master II” is a Hong Kong comedic martial arts movie released in 1994 and re-released in North America as “The Legend of Drunken Master” in 2000. Though it is considered to be a sequel to “Drunken Master” (1978), it is more like a reboot and can be watched as a standalone. In this movie, international superstar, Jackie Chan, stars as Fei-Hung Wang, a young martial artist, who is the son of a Chinese herbalist, conflicted with how to utilize his martial arts technique: the drunken fist, in order to not damage his family’s honor and protect his community.

REVIEW

My father and I’s favorite past time is to watch TV together. Now that I am home and do not have to work tomorrow, I decided to use my Netflix account to search for some old Hong Kong martial arts or gangster movies to watch with my old man. During my search, I stumbled across this recommendation and decided to give it a try. I am totally glad I did. This movie is hilarious and action packed. Nowadays, kung fu movies have very few fight scenes and rely heavily on special effects. It’s refreshing to watch something that is a classic and actually good. That final fight was too cool. This movie hits all the old school comedic martial arts movie spots. It is extremely entertaining with its array of amusing characters and dialogue. I especially loved Ling, Fei-Hung’s stepmother, played by Anita Mui. Gosh, she was such a talented singer and actress. I hope she is resting in peace. Back to the witty dialogue, there were many great one liners which cracked me up completely. The Cantonese language can be so funny. Even though I enjoyed the movie very much and so did my father, I do have to point out the parts that were a bit lacking. Firstly, almost all comedic movies have that one deep or sad scene that catches the movie and brings it to its down from its climax. I felt that for this movie, it could have pushed it more and be sadder and deeper. Secondly, the ending does not tie up any loose ends. It simply ends to end, so I wasn’t ready for it to conclude at all. Besides those two points, I thought this movie was utterly awesome and would highly recommend it. Because of the kick ass fight scenes, laugh out loud humor, amazing cast plus chemistry, and nostalgia, I give this movie a 4/5.

Leave a Reply

