Book Review: Stay [WAGS #2]

~ Warning! Spoilers! Book Review: Stay [WAGS #2] by: Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy ~

SUMMARY

Hailey is the co-owner of FETCH, an app that helps anonymous clients ‘fetch’ the things they need any time of the day. Hailey, a divorcee, is certain that one of her clients is the famous hockey player, Matt Eriksson, whom she has a huge crush on. However, the divorce from her best friend and co-owner did a number on her confidence. In addition, Matt who is still suffering from his divorce doubts his ability to commit. How can these two people who obviously like each other but have never met in person start a relationship?

REVIEW

I just want to start this review off with saying that I really enjoyed this book and could not put it down. I loved many aspects of it, and it was definitely a step up from the first WAGS book. Honestly, the writing duo that is Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy is magical. I don’t know how they put out all these books together which I adore so much but keep up the good work. I was highly anticipating this book because I thought gloomy Matt Eriksson whom we have been introduced to before really deserves love in his life, and this story did not disappoint. I was fascinated with the concept of the two divorcees: Matt and Hailey meeting through an app and how their divorce kind of brought a downer to their lives and how they rebuilt their confidence together. I have to say that I didn’t feel as passionately for them as I did for the previous pairs, but this book was solid.

Firstly, that extremely hot role play scene where Matt was pretending to be a coach was so steamy. Secondly, I always enjoy a good sisterhood / girl bonding scene. The WAGS getting together and meeting up at Hailey’s place was just absolutely endearing and a great addition to the plot. Thirdly, I loved seeing Matt Eriksson as a father because he’s such a good one. Fourthly, everyone needs a friend like Jenny in their lives. In the end, everything was wrapped up super duper nicely. Every single problem was resolved. Matt confronts his wife which made her break down and admit that she also has to take blame in their faulty marriage that it wasn’t just all Matt and his schedule. Also, it sort of hints that she will loosen up which is nice. Come on, kids don’t need to see their parents tense and disliking each other. Then, Jackson confronts his father and made up with Hailey so they are best friends again. Good for them! Matt got over his issues of not wanting to commit because he doesn’t think he’s good enough. Matt proposing to Hailey with the help of Jenny was the perfect ending. By the way, it was so obvious how HTE was going to still be HTE. I predicted it early on that the authors wanted to do that purposely. Anyways, it was overall a fun story and I totally recommend it. I give it a 4/5.

As for the next WAGS book, I am guessing that it’s O’Connor and the figure skater. They definitely have history together. Also, I would love to see Jenny be a part of the WAGS squad. I know Lemming is still single, so it would be nice if they got together after O’Connor leaves him for the relationship life. Most of the team is using the fetch app now, so Lemming and Jenny can definitely cross paths.

 

One thought on “Book Review: Stay [WAGS #2]

Leave a Reply

