Book Review: Tangled

~ Spoiler Free! Book Review: Tangled by: Emma Chase ~

SUMMARY

Drew Evans is a winner. Handsome and arrogant, he makes multimillion dollar business deals and seduces New York’s most beautiful women with just a smile. He has loyal friends and an indulgent family. So why has he been shuttered in his apartment for seven days, miserable and depressed? He’ll tell you he has the flu. But we all know that’s not really true.

Katherine Brooks is brilliant, beautiful, and ambitious. She refuses to let anything – or anyone – derail her path to success. When Kate is hired as the new associate at Drew’s father’s investment banking firm, every aspect of the dashing playboy’s life is thrown into a tailspin. The professional competition she brings is unnerving, his attraction to her is distracting, and his failure to entice her into his bed is exasperating.

Then, just when Drew is on the cusp of having everything he wants, his overblown confidence threatens to ruin it all. Will he be able untangle his feelings of lust and tenderness, frustration and fulfillment? Will he rise to the most important challenge of his life? Can Drew Evans win at love? [GOODREADS]

REVIEW

After reading Emma Chase’s Royally series, I knew I needed more of her stories in my life. So, I bought Tangled and Twisted assuming that I would love them. The Royally series which was my first encounter with Emma Chase had humor, wit, and really hot steam. Tangled tried it and failed. Now, I’m not sure if I want to read Twisted, the second book, anymore even though I just bought it.

The main character, Drew, is your stereotypical rich playboy. The story is in his point of view, and after a few pages, I was uncertain if I wanted to continue. Charming and confident, Drew oozes toxic masculinity and can effortlessly pick out the ‘easy’ ones in a crowd. It’s not that he doesn’t respect women; he’s just not looking for a relationship, only a good time. That is perfectly fine and he is upfront about it. However, he won’t stop talking and sharing his unnecessary advice. I can’t stand that he regularly breaks the fourth wall. Drew is constantly pushing down at readers’ throats about how he is the perfect flawed male species. It was extremely annoying. In short, he is a jerk and does a lot of things to prove this fact. Therefore, his sudden ability to fall in love should not and does not redeem his character. Can we stop with these stories about how the strong, independent woman changes a playboy and now he learns to be faithful to her? It’s not romantic or cutely cheesy; it’s just crap. Additionally, the love interest, Kate, was so boringly cliché. She’s a small town trying to make it in the big city and takes shit from no one but as a woman in a man’s world, she still feels insecure. Kate sadly added nothing and I mean nothing to the plot. I felt no chemistry between Kate and Drew. The banter could have been fun, but it never took off. The development of their relationship was just lacking. Kate is the love interest, Drew’s redemption, the girl we root for, but was she really any of that? I finished Tangled hoping sooner or later it would offer me the feelings I got from the Royally series. It didn’t and I was disappointed. The book wasn’t entirely bad; it ended nicely and I did manage to finish it. Therefore, I would give it a 2/5.

Leave a Reply

