Asian Drama Review: “Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo”

~ Warning! Spoilers! K-drama Review: “Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo” ~

REVIEW

Before reading my full review, you check out my halfway one first and then come back to this one, if you would like.  

 

“Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo” is a light and cute drama which perfectly captures the adorable rollercoaster emotions of first love. Set in a university for athletes, the plot depicts the struggles and hardships young people particularly young athletes endure.

Hands down, the drama would be nothing without the awesomeness that is Kim Bok Joo. Her character is so charming and fun; I love the faces that she makes. Her relationship with Joon Hyung is SWAG! They seriously have the best kiss scenes, and I absolutely adore how Bok Joo took initiative with the second one. The friendship between Nan Hee, Seon Ok, and Bok Joo was delightful. That is a girl group which I want to join. Her friends ‘hazing’ Joon Hyung was hilarious. I also enjoyed the two supportive family dynamics very much with Bok Joo’s dad and uncle and with Joon Hyung’s mom, dad, and older brother. This drama honestly showcases such great plotlines for love, friendship, and family. The only minor problem is the lack of developed love lines with the secondary characters. It is not a big deal, but what happened with Si Ho and Joon Hyung’s senior on the swim team. I know they aren’t supposed to work out, but there was no conclusion there: it was just dropped. Then, there was the hinted romance between Tae Kwon and Seon Duk. It was frankly brought up at the end simply for the sole purpose to be forgotten. That’s sad. This is a personal preference, but I don’t like that the two weightlifting coaches ending up together. I thought Bok Joo’s uncle would be good for Coach Choi, and although they don’t end up together, there’s really no need to randomly throw him some strange girlfriend in the conclusion. Let’s see, Jae Yi and Ah Young’s romance wasn’t bad. The flow made sense, but how are they still engaged in the two years later?

I sound like I am hating, so I want to clarify that I love this drama. It was extremely endearing and entertaining. I totally recommend it. By the time I was watching the final episode, I wasn’t ready for it to end. I felt like it only started. The conclusion was fabulous and hit me right in the feels one last time.

I have so many favorite scenes; it’s hard to pick one, but a random pleasant surprise was all the Scarlet Heart cast cameos such as with Ji Soo, Seo Hyun, and Z.Hera. The scene that moved me the most in the second half of the drama was definitely when Joon Hyung found out that his birth mother only came back to visit him in order to borrow money which led to that heated argument with his aunt. My heart was in pain. Both Nam Joo Hyuk and Lee Sung Kyung are great at crying.

The drama touched me from beginning to end. It brought up important issues young people / young athletes face (such as the slump) in addition to sprinkling family, friend, and love drama. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for something nice and uplifting to watch.

Lastly, I want the university letterman jackets they wear in this drama to be sold to the public so badly. I would totally buy one, even two.

“Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo” SWAG! 4/5

Kim Bok Joo

I hope these two who got together in real life can have a long and happy relationship. They really do look great together.


I mentioned Scarlet Heart in this post, so if you’re interested, click here to check out my review for that K-drama.  Asian Drama Review: Scarlet Heart Ryeo

One thought on “Asian Drama Review: “Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo”

Leave a Reply

