Halfway Asian Drama Review: Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo

~ Halfway K-drama Review: “Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo” (Ep. 1-8) ~

SUMMARY

A coming-of-age story about a group of college athletes who are fighting for their dreams, experiencing and finding love in the process, and growing every step of the way. (WIKIPEDIA)4981_weightliftingfairykimbokjoo_nowplay_smallREVIEW

After finishing “13 Reasons Why”, I was in the mood for something light-hearted and cute and “Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo” really hit the spot. I have wanted to watch this drama for the longest time because the handsome, Nam Joo Hyuk, takes on the lead role. I’m glad that I started it because it did not disappoint. Also come on, the OTP/ship in this drama actually took sail in real life. That only added to the reasons why one should watch this drama. By the way, this is my first time seeing Lee Sung Kyung in a drama. She is so tall and pretty. I like how the show tries to minimize her beauty, but let’s be real: she’s gorgeous. Also, Kim Bok Joo is the perfect character for her.

Alright, let’s talk about the plot. I kind of don’t like this whole troupe of ‘predestined lovers’. We met as kids and had a connection, but we lost contact, and now that we are older – we have the ability to reconnect and fall in love. Why can’t two people just meet and fall in love without being ‘predestined lovers’. Luckily, this drama does not actually use this troupe which I dislike. However, something else I do not enjoy is when a lie or lies drag on and on and then gets blown out of proportion. Truthfully, with how light-hearted this drama is, I can see that this will not be the case. Episode eight ends with the older brother still being in the dark, but from the next episode’s preview, he should be finding out. Yes, let’s move on from crushing on the older brother to crushing on the correct, younger brother. Falling for the older brother first reminds me of “Reply 1997”, anyone else? Frankly, Kim Bok Joo’s monologue before dropping off the birthday gift could have been written down as a letter and presented along with the gift to solve this problem/lie faster.

Now let’s talk about our villain: Si Ho. Truthfully, I do not think she is evil. I think she is stressed and confused and acting out. Viewers can see that she feels bad and wanted to get the diet diary back. In addition, she is very up front with what she did. She confesses because it was eating her up, so she’s not necessarily a bad person. She is still trying to figure herself out but not in the best way. That reminds me: was anyone else worried that Kim Bok Joo might injure Si Ho during their altercation? Be careful, kids going to college and dorming – don’t trust your stranger roommate. Another thing about Si Ho: I feel mean for saying this, but Si Ho’s family drama is quite bland and uninteresting. I don’t care for it.

Next, let’s discuss some other characters. Kim Bok Joo has such a great support system. Her father obviously loves her very much. I was so touched he bought her lipstick. She also has two great friends. Nan Hee is hilariously adorable, and Sun Ok reminds me of Amber from f(x), very cool. Side note: I can watch Nam Hoo Hyuk walk/skip steps all day. His long legs are so sexy. Plus, the Lee Jong Suk cameo was so exciting! Who else will make a cameo?

This drama is doing a great job displaying the joys and pains of first love. I cannot wait to see how Kim Bok Joo and Jung Joon Hyung’s relationship progress. How will they both discover their love for each other? I am going to continue watching now, but before I do, here are my predictions.  weightlifting-fairy-kim-bok-joo-posterPREDICTIONS

  1. I think Kim Bok Joo’s coach and uncle will end up together.
  2. I also think because I want to know more: what’s up with Professor/Coach Yoon’s relationship with his ex-wife? They are divorced, aren’t they?
  3. Si Ho will quit gymnastics. Also, of course the swim captain would like her. It only adds more to his dislike for Joon Hyung, but they will not end up together.
  4. One of Kim Bok Joo’s friends will end up with Joon Hyung’s friend.
  5. Kim Bok Joo and Joon Hyung will both win a gold medal in the end.
  6. Joon Hyung will somehow reconnect with his mother probably through online means.
  7. Kim Bok Joo and Joon Hyung will do this ai-mei BS until the last one or two episodes. They will finally get together in the last one or two episodes. In my heart, I hope this isn’t true because I want more lovey-dovey-ness from them, but we shall see.c2ni6osuoaa-nar1-e1484806302654
Leave a Reply

