BOOK REVIEW: US

~ Warning! Minor Spoilers! Book Review: US (HIM#2) by: Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy ~

SUMMARY

US is the second book in the HIM duology. The story picks up five months from when the first book left off. While his boyfriend, Ryan Wesley, is having a great professional rookie season in the NHL, Jamie Canning is having difficulties at work, struggling with dating a professional athlete who is constantly on the road, and hates that they have to hide their relationship. Will these two lovebirds be able to overcome the many obstacles that stand in their way? On top of all of that, there’s the problem of Wesley’s nosy teammate moving in upstairs…

If you want to read my review for HIM first, you can click here: Book Review: HIM

REVIEW

Alright, if you read my review for HIM, you would have already known how in love I was with that book. I admitted to being hesitant about reading US because I thought the first book already ended so well, but my worries were (almost) all wiped away. The second book doesn’t pack as strong as a punch as the first one, but I still thoroughly enjoyed it. It was a decent sequel, and I would totally recommend it as a must read for fans of HIM. Our favorite boys are back and still as sexy as fuck. There is some fun horny banter (which amuses me), but I wish there was more. I understand that it was a bit difficult with mopey Jamie around. Anyways, overall, the book was truly a solid follow up.

I thought it could have done more with showing of how fans, the public, even teammates/co-workers honestly reacted to the sudden ousting / coming out of the closet scandal. It was supposed to be a big deal and a focal point to the plot; yet, it was all too beautifully swept under the rug as ‘it wasn’t that bad’ plus ‘it was more good than bad if anything’. I get it. This isn’t the type of book to hit hard on the bigotry and I shouldn’t expect it to be. It’s fine. In addition, this isn’t a huge deal, but I don’t really like this troupe of let’s get married to solve all our problems. Getting married, for real, does not mean that the problems will magically disappear after the ceremony. I am glad that while they are engaged, Jamie and Wesley are communicating their issues. It’s a start. Look at me, talking about them like real people. I must confess though to being Jamie X Wesley trash. I will probably go pick up Good Boy which is part of a spinoff series, WAGS, centered on Wesley’s teammates. This first one, Good Boy, is about Blake and Jessica, Jamie’s sister. The book will start off at Jamie and Wesley’s wedding. I am pretty much only picking up this book for Jamie and Wesley, but you know, I still hope it’s good. Let’s see… I’ll keep you updated. Lastly, shout out to the Canning family for be so freaking awesome.

As for US, it was good enough for four stars on goodreads, but candidly, it is more like a 3.7… However, if there is another Jamie X Wesley story in the future, I would read it in a heartbeat.

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: US

Leave a Reply

