Yesterday and the day before, I heard “Bad Liar” by Selena Gomez and “Crying in the Club” by Camila Cabello respectively on the radio and before I let both of these songs from two female artists I really enjoy grow on me, I want to compare them just for kicks. As a disclaimer, I am a fan of these two singers and everyone is entitled to their own opinions. Therefore, you don’t have to agree with me, and I am not doing this to hate, so don’t hate on me.

Let’s start with Camila Cabello’s new song since this is her debut single. After announcing her somehow drama-filled departure from Fifth Harmony, Camila decided to go solo. I was a bit worried for her, but she has had very successful duets and collabs. I was super duper looking forward to her solo debut. Watching her music video, I could feel the raw confession of vulnerability in the beginning part, “I have Questions”. The real emotions in that part really moved me. However, as the song progressed, to what I heard on the radio, I have to admit that I found it a bit boring. I hate to say it, but I am a little disappointed with “Crying in the Club”. It samples “Genie in a Bottle” and is written by Sia, so it’s a great song in its own right, but I was expecting more and better from Camila. It’s my fault; I over-hyped her solo debut in my head. I’m not saying that I don’t like this song, but I thought it could be better.
camila-cabello-crying-club

I have loved Selena Gomez since her Disney days. She has been my idol since forever, and I don’t care what the haters have to say about her. She is an awesome role model. After the success of “It Ain’t Me” with Kygo, I was extremely excited to see her posting about coming out with new music on Instagram. I really like “It Ain’t Me”, and sadly, “Bad Liar” is nothing like it. Honestly, in Asian music, there is a lot of this speaking-singing thing that happens, and I seriously love it to pieces. However, I don’t know how I feel about Selena’s version of it. I can tell that I will soon be addicted to the chorus of “Bad Liar”. It definitely has that stay in your head quality, but does that make it a good song?
selena-gomez-bad-liar-1495113386-compressed

Alright, now that I have questioned both songs. I have to pick one over the other. That is the purpose of this post. This is terribly difficult, but I think I have to choose “Crying in the Club” by Camila Cabello. Now, it’s your turn: which is better in your opinion?
camila-cabello-crying-in-the-club-video

Anyways, I can’t wait to hear more stuff from these two singers and hopefully we will all be able to listen to a full album from them soon. By the way, how awesome would if be if they collabed with each other and totally do a bilingual track?
maxresdefault

 

