Opinion 6: Ranking One Direction Members Solo Debut Single

Today, Liam Payne released his solo debut single. With that, everyone single remaining One Direction member has finally presented a solo project to the world. I was/am a huge One Direction fan. Therefore, this ranking is totally done with good and purely fun intentions. I was discussing every single members’ debut single with a friend of mine and eventually came up with this ranking. Obviously, the ranking is going to go from my least favorite to my most favorite solo debut single. Please remember that everyone is entitled to their own opinions: I personally think all these songs are great, but there are some I prefer more than others. With that disclaimer out of the way, let’s get started.

4) “Just Hold On” – Louis Tomlinson & Steve Aoki
When this song came out, I was honestly a little bit over this genre of music. I think Steve Aoki is a great DJ, but for me, there was just something missing in the vocals and lyrics to catapult this song into greatness.

3) “Sign of the Times” – Harry Styles
Truthfully, I get excited every time this song is on the radio, but I’m not a huge fan of the lyrics. In addition, I think he has some other fabulous songs on his album which would have been a way better debut track.

2) “Strip That Down” – Liam Payne ft. Quavo
I obviously have listened to this song the least compared to all the other songs on this list, but my initial reaction was that this is the type of music I currently really enjoy. I have to confess that this and “Sign of the Times” were really neck to neck. I think what broke the tie might be because Liam Payne was my favorite member in One Direction. However, what’s up with the whole “You know I used to be in 1D, but now I’m free” shit? Frankly, I don’t think this BS “hiatus” will ever end.

1) “This Town” – Niall Horan
It takes me some time to warm up to slow songs, but once I warmed up to this song, I couldn’t stop listening to it. There is just something really pure and loving about it which I absolutely adore. I think that’s why it tops my list. On a side note, “Slow Hands” is pretty amazing too.

Well, that’s my ranking. What does everyone think? I feel like it really shows off what kind of music I like. Anyways, should I do an album comparison next? I was thinking ranking Zayn Malik’s Mind of Mine album with 1D members who have/will release an album. How would you feel about that? 

One thought on “Opinion 6: Ranking One Direction Members Solo Debut Single

Leave a Reply

