Movie Review: Sky High (2005)

~ Warning! Spoilers! Movie Review: “Sky High” (2005) ~

SYNOPSIS

Set in an era where superheroes are commonly known and accepted, young William Stronghold, the son of the Commander and Jetstream, tries to find a balance between being a normal teenager and an extraordinary being. (FROM IMDb)

REVIEW

I adored this movie as a kid and had to rewatch it when I saw it on Netflix. “Sky High” is the right amount of humor/satire, action, and teenage drama. It’s super entertaining, and it’s on my list of movies I would love to see have a sequel. The casting is great, so if there is ever a sequel, they have to, have to use the same cast. But, it’s probably impossible now.

I enjoyed all the twists at the end. Although all of it was quite obvious, it was still an awesome ending. I thought it was so clever the whole: “girlfriend became archenemy, archenemy became friend, best friend became girlfriend”. 😉 Honestly, the movie has a pretty nice message, too. Maybe it’s just me, but I would have liked to see Warren Peace and Layla end up together. It would have been cute… possibly cuter than Layla and Will Stronghold. However, it wasn’t meant to be. Seriously, I always had a soft spot for the bad guy in teen flicks. In addition, as a kid, I appreciated the random Cantonese in the Chinese restaurant scene. Growing up speaking Cantonese to my father, this scene was so adorable to me. I loved Warren Peace’s accented Cantonese and that it’s a rude exchange. Of course, they would be yelling. Lol! If you have never seen this movie, you need to go watch it ASAP. You’re missing out, and I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.
1423293541084166290
OMG! What the! I didn’t know they made these cute name cards and student IDs as promotional posters for the whole cast. They are so cool. Man, why didn’t I know about this then? I am only learning this now while looking up pictures.
2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Sky High (2005)

Leave a Reply

