Book Review: Strays (Red Kings Series #1)

~ Spoiler Free Book Review: Strays (Red Kings Series #1) by: Emma Kendrick ~

Summary: Jackie and Tyler are best friends living together in a new state. Somehow, they get involved with the area’s notorious motorcycle club, Red Kings. As Tyler dives deeper into the club’s illegal activities and Jackie can no longer resist the most dangerous member, Dean, how will their new lives unfold?

Review: Firstly, I would like to thank the author, Emma Kendrick, for sending me a free soft-copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I would also like to congratulate her on this debut novel. Good Job! Honestly, this is my first time reading this genre, MC romance, and I’m not sure if it is my cup of tea. Anyways, it was a pretty quick read. I think the writing is easy to understand and the characterizations were well written. I really enjoyed all the side characters. The plot is solid, and I can see it going further with a second. Though I’m not a huge fan as to how this first one ended, at least it wasn’t a cliff hanger. There was an actual end. Although the story lacks complexity, I did get hooked into it after a few chapters. It has its intriguing moments. Initially hearing that it is a story about a motorcycle gang, I was expecting more action and violence, but the story is more focused on the romance which was perfectly fine. I do have to say that I am unsure/not really buying Jackie and Dean, but I wish them the best. Overall, if you are looking for an interesting and tamed MC romance, then I think you need to read this story. [3/5]

Leave a Reply

