Asian Drama Review: ‘Eternal Love’ aka ‘Three Lives Three Worlds, Ten Miles of Peach Blossoms’ (三生三世十里桃花) [2017]

~ Spoiler Free! Chinese Drama Review: ‘Eternal Love’ aka ‘Three Lives Three Worlds, Ten Miles of Peach Blossoms’ (三生三世十里桃花) ~

Summary: This drama tells the love story of two deities, Bai Qian [Yang Mi]and Ye Hua [Mark Chao You-Ting], as their romance transcends three ‘eternities’.

Review: This is hands down the best drama I have watched this year. I don’t know if anything else can top it at this moment in time. Even though some days have passed since I have finished watching it, I’m still living in it. I cannot stop watching behind the scenes videos and interviews plus variety show appearances of the cast members. I cannot let this drama go, and I am seriously contemplating re-watching it. I rarely watch long dramas because it is too much of a time commitment. However, I have heard so much praise for this 58 episode drama that since I am currently between jobs, I decided to give in a try and then, I could not stop.
This drama has a talented cast with lots of chemistry. It is extremely evident in their behind the scenes interactions. The plot seamlessly flows and links all these characters together. Dramas with a lot of characters like this which focuses more on the main characters sometimes forget their side characters, but this drama gives ample time to introduce the side characters and their conflicts. I thoroughly enjoyed this. In addition, a good story needs to have a good villain. The evil characters in this drama aren’t just bad for no reason. They actually have motive and reason which adds layers to the story. Another thing I liked was that it wasn’t just a everyone gets a happily ever after drama. Characters own up to their roles and destinies even if it isn’t necessarily perfect. You can tell a lot of hard work and effort went into this drama, and I wholeheartedly respect everyone who is a part of this cast. The costumes and makeup in this drama are absolutely stunning and fitting. I have to say that having grown up on Hollywood visual effects, the background visuals in Chinese drama are still a bit lacking in comparison. Nonetheless, with these xian’xia (high fantasy martial arts genre) dramas, you sometimes have to get used to the fakeness of the background and enjoy it for it plot, emotions, and human connections. I laughed, I cried, I fell in love, and was completely moved.

There are minor things in the plot that irked me, but they are so minute that it is not even worth mentioning. Therefore, I want to end this spoiler free review with saying that everyone should make time in their schedule to watch 三生三世十里桃花 aka Eternal Love. It changed my views on current Chinese dramas and really got me sucked in this new-ish genre of xian’xia. I am so in love that I bought the book which the drama is based on. It will take me some time to get to me and to read it in Chinese, but it is a challenge I am seriously looking forward to. Alright everyone, go watch it!

3 thoughts on “Asian Drama Review: ‘Eternal Love’ aka ‘Three Lives Three Worlds, Ten Miles of Peach Blossoms’ (三生三世十里桃花) [2017]

Leave a Reply

