Movie Review: Doctor Strange

~ Spoiler Free Movie Review: “Doctor Strange” ~

SUMMARY

After a career ending car accident, Stephen Strange, a doctor, who is as arrogant as he is strong-willed travels to Nepal to seek the Ancient One to ‘heal’ his hands. He ends up learning more than he bargained for.

REVIEW

Overall, the movie wasn’t bad. The plot was solid, and the casting was alright. I like Benedict Cumberbatch and Rachel McAdams, and Benedict Wong shocked me with his talent and role. Originally, I didn’t want to watch the movie because of how problematic it is with white-washing the role of the ‘Ancient One’. Honestly, I don’t have much to say about the movie. It was entertaining enough, but I wouldn’t highly recommend it. With that said, I will just share some thoughts on the plot and characters. First, it seems like Mads Mikkelsen (who plays Kaecilius) is sadly typed cast to portray the villain. I remember his face from a lot of villainous roles. Was he ever a hero? Next, I think a major problem I had with the movie is how everything seemed too unbelievably, and I wasn’t fully brought into this whole alternate world of different dimensions and magic. Another thing I noticed about this movie is that it tries a bit too hard to be deep which bored me. There were a few jokes which I enjoyed, but I think it was too far and too few. For a Marvel movie, I was expecting more humor especially from such a pompous character like Doctor Strange. Lastly, I think I might have weak eye sight or something. There is this one part in the movie where the world and dimensions keep shifting. Honestly, the effects was awesome but it was a strain on my eyes. Like I said earlier, the movie is watchable, it just isn’t on my favorite list. By the way, there is no real action, everything ends because of ‘chance’.

Leave a Reply

