Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

~ Spoiler Free Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR) by: Sarah J. Maas ~

Summary

When Feyre went hunting in the woods one day and kills a wolf, she was not expecting a scary faerie to show up at her door and take her away. Forced to live with these magical and dangerous immortals, can the smart huntress survive?

Thoughts/Review
This book was epic. I am usually slow warming up to high fantasy. It took me around chapter six to really get into it and once I did, I could not put it down. There were moments where I had to stop reading (because of life), but I could not wait to pick it up again. This book brought me such thrills, and the cover is very pretty. I have heard so much about Sarah J. Maas, and I am truly glad I finally bought her book. I appreciated that even though this book is part of a series, there is actually an ending to it. (I’m not a fan of cliffhangers.) Additionally, I liked that the main characters all have a backstory and motive. This is what makes a story interesting. Sarah J. Maas has such a way with prose, so beautiful. I felt like she was literally painting scenery, color, and characters in my head. I wish I could write description and create a new world like that. I can totally imagine this as a movie. I will admit that I found the power of love to be way too strong and possibly a bit cheesy. Also, I was expecting a more profound ending, but I did like it and found it fitting. Honestly, because of how badly I did not want to put it down, how sad I was to reach the end, and how much I want to read the next book, I would say this book deserves a 5 out of 5. I wholeheartedly recommend this book. Now, I need to go get the second book.
Last thing, this is just me being silly: on the cover, it writes ‘She stole a life”. My idiot self first jumped to the thought of identity swap/identity theft. Hahaha. Obviously, it’s not that at all.

 

One thought on “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Leave a Reply

