Book Series I won’t finish

Book Series I won’t finish

It is rare for me to not finish reading a book. Completing a book always gives me a sense of accomplishment whether I like it or not. I feel that I am unable to truly judge something unless I have read it from front to back (and I love judging). Yet, after reading a book or so of these following series, I decided to drop them and not continue on. Here is a list of some book series I won’t finish in alphabetical order.

  • Gossip Girl: Cecily von Ziegesar (1.5/12)
    • Right before the show came out, my sister and I thought the books looked so cool and chic at Borders. We bought about three or four together, and it was a bit too raunchy for our young minds at that time. Also, our aunt caught a quick glance of me reading it while waiting to be seated for dinner and it was probably the worst page for her to see. Young me felt like it was because of the book that I got in trouble with my aunt. I haven’t picked up the books since that day, but I did watch the show. Blair and Chuck will forever be my favorite OTP!
  • Losing It: Cora Carmack (read 1/3)
    • Truthfully, I did not give this book a bad review at all. It was honestly decent, but I wasn’t in love with it to the point where I would care enough about the love lives of secondary characters that barely mattered in this first book. Anyways, here is the link to my review on this book if you are interested. Book Review – Losing It by: Cora Carmack
  • Me Before You: Jojo Moyes (1/2)
    • This is my first Jojo Moyes book, and it hit me in the feels so hard that I was down to read more of her books. I found out that there was a sequel, and I actually went and bought it. Then, I checked online reviews and gave the After You to my aunt who I recommended Me before You If she ends up reading it and magically liking it, I might give it a try, but I highly doubt it. It is such a good stand alone book that I don’t want the sequel to ruin the Lou I pictured in my head. By the way, I went and watched the movie after reading the book and you can check out my comparison here. Review: Movie v Book: Me Before You
  • Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants: Ann Brashares (read 1/5)
    • I talked about this in my review about how there were some themes in the first book that did not agree with me and how I felt that the book didn’t age well because I picked it up after both movies came out. It was super disappointing because I was a on a book series reading high and hated buying books one at a time, so I went on a whim and ended up buying the whole set for this. It was such a waste of money because I ended up giving the series to my friend’s friend. Here is the link to my review on this book is you are interested. Book Review: The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants
  • Stargirl: Jerry Spinelli (1/2)
    • I am not going to read Stargirl’s sequel for the same reason as to why I am not going to read the sequel for Me before You. The books were amazing stand alone books and the sequel has such disappointing reviews online that I think it is best to avoid and remember only the good. If you want to read my thoughts on this book, here is the link: Review: Book: Stargirl
  • The Giver: Lois Lowry (read 1/4)
    • My class read this book in middle school, and I still remember being absolutely in love with it. As an adult who now follows book news, I have learned that this is part of a quartet. I reread The Giver this year in hopes of continuing it, but then I found out that every book is about a different character in a different dystopian world. Now, I’m not sure. The author is fantastic, and I have one friend who is telling me to continue on, but I am still contemplating. The books aren’t big, so this is probably the only one on the list that I might finish. I’ll keep you updated. Here is the link to my review on The Giver, if you are interested. Book Review: The Giver
  • The Selection: Kiera Cass (read 3/5)
    • While reading the first three books of the series, I didn’t think they were half bad. Looking back especially by the second book, I was annoyed with America and Aspen and the plot was not doing it for me. I don’t even know how I had enough curiosity to finish the third book, and I thought I had completed the trilogy. Then, the author wrote I guess a spin off about their daughter which has super mixed reviews online. I think I will stay away and remember the series as not being half bad. Also, in the future, I will probably not read anymore Kiera Cass books because of how someone who represents her treated an online reviewer. Well, here are the links to The Selection, The Elite, and The One reviews if you are interested. Review: Book: “The Selection” Book Review: The Elite (Book Two of The Selection series) Book Review: The One (The Selection Novel)
  • Uglies: Scott Westerfeld (1/4+1)
    • I am pretty sure I bought this book during a book fair in elementary school. I read it and thought the concept was very interesting, but I did not know that there was more. At that time, I was not updated on book news like I am now with the help of bookstagram and booktube. With that said, I would have to reread the first book to continue on with the series, and it has been far too long that I don’t know if I want to. If anyone who has read this entire series thinks I should read it, tell me in the comments. I might give it a try if I hear enough.
One thought on “Book Series I won’t finish

Leave a Reply

