Why I’m a Reader

Why I’m a Reader BOOK TAG
Questions:

-Choose 1 word that describes being a reader.
reading
-What’s the very first book you fell in love with?
probably… some children’s book I can’t remember but I do remember trying to collect and read as many Baby-Sitter Club books and Magic Tree House books when I was in elementary school because I loved them so much 
-Hardcover or paperback?
paperback
-How has reading shaped your identity?
I used to read a lot when I was younger. My dad is a bit of a hoarder and would just bring home sets and sets of old books that he got from the swap meet or from his friend’s kids that didn’t want them anymore. I read so much Pen Pals, Sweet Valley High, and Baby-Sitters Club back then. Thinking about them is a serious walking down memory lane. Booktube and bookstagram needs to get on these. LOL! Anyways, in high school when reading became homework, I stopped reading for fun. I had to read a lot for my major in college, so I was still not reading for fun. Also, at that time, I had a Netflix account. Now, I am glad that in my adult life I can once again find the joy in reading for fun. I realized that instead of answering how reading has shaped my identity… I briefly touched the surface as to how it shaped my life… It’s too late to change this answer now.
-What book do you read when you need to be comforted?
It is either between a light heart contemporary YA novel or a funny manga series. 
-Who taught you to be a reader? (Or did you do it all on your own?)
I think having the luxury of growing up with books taught me to read. Like I mentioned before, my father was constantly bringing home books. I would read those and get a bunch of stamps for the ‘Hook on Books’ campaign at my school. Once I hit a certain amount of stamps, I was able to get a free book to take home. Funny story: I was seriously the only elementary school student that racked up stamps just to get all the Baby-Sitters Club Mystery books that the librarian stocked up for the book prize cart because I was the only kid (I knew) reading the original series. Also, my kind and loving parents would let me pick out a book in order words buy me a new book at every school book fair. OMG! Scholastic school book fairs are the best things ever. Do they still have those along with book orders? Additionally, I hope schools still do this, but when I was in elementary school, we took a field trip to the local library so all the students could sign up for a library card. I lived on the same street as the city library until they teared it down, but I was literally surrounded by books. Lastly, when I was no longer shy about tell people what I actually wanted for my birthday, I would straight up say Borders gift card. My heart still aches that Borders no longer exists. I remember when my parents would drop off my friend and I at Borders so we could read and then come pick us up later. WOW! Those were the days. This became too long and unnecessary, but I had fun walking down memory lane. Looking back, my parents definitely fostered my love for reading. 
-Describe your dream reading lounge.
I am real simple. I just need a quiet space with good lightning and a totally awesome bean bag chair facing book shelves filled with beautiful books.  

One thought on “Why I’m a Reader

Leave a Reply

