Book Review: The Giver

~ Warning Spoilers! Book Review: The Giver [Newbery Medal] by: Lois Lowry ~

Backstory

I read this book in middle school for Mr. Sevold’s class. I remember liking it and asking my teacher at that time if Jonas died at the end. Instead of giving me a clear answer, he asked me what I thought. I responded with saying he must be dead, but I was not sure. I think that was when I learned that books have the power to make readers analyze and ponder, and isn’t that a beautiful thing? Anyways, most of the books in my current possession are huge or sad. I wanted a book that was light in weight and won’t make me cry while riding the train. (I cry easily.) Thus, I plucked this one from my friend’s shelf because it felt like a good book to reread, and it was!

Summary

Jonas’s world is perfect. There is no war or fear or pain, and there are no choices. Every person is assigned a role in the community. When Jonas turned twelve, he was singled out to receive special training from The Giver. The Giver alone holds the memories of the true pain and pleasure of life. Now it’s time for Jonas to receive the truth. There is no turning back.

Thoughts/Review

The Giver is a great book that I would recommend to everyone no matter if you’re a teenager or an adult. With that said, I need to get my younger cousins to read this book because there is so much to learn from it.
This book explores one of my favorite themes: the theory of relativity. One cannot comprehend true happiness if they have never experienced deep sadness. I agree with this one hundred percent. It also discusses the pros and cons of sameness and questions the ability to choose. How much would one give up and change to live a ‘safe’ life? Books like these have always been important but more so now, I think. I hope everyone will read this book. Plus, it’s actually quite short.
Since I have already read the book before, I was not expecting it to evoke any emotions in me, but I was wrong. I already knew that being released meant death. I didn’t expect learning it again would make me sad once more. When the smaller twin was put to death, I felt the urge to cry. I wanted to weep for the loss of Jonas’s innocence. He knows now, so there’s no going back. Is it because I’m older than I’m more emotional? The disrespect towards laborers and treating birth mothers as only a womb unsettled me so much. As an adult who would like to have kids in the future and has a father who did physical labor… these things really hit me in a soft spot. Also, the ending still got to me. The feeling of hope and nothingness wrapped together in one is too difficult to describe, but I felt it.

*Quartet?

So, I found out that this is the first book of a quartet. It feels like a great stand-alone book. I don’t know how it would be as a series but my friend has the second book, so I might give it a try… might

IMG_4431.JPG

One thought on “Book Review: The Giver

Leave a Reply

