Asian drama review: “Goblin”

Warning Spoilers!

If you want to read my halfway review before this full one, here is the link: Halfway Review: Goblin (Kdrama)

Review:

First off, this was a great drama. I loved it very much. The plot was interesting. The casting was on point. I cried, I laughed; I went through a roller coaster of emotions. Only a good story and acting can do that. So, I totally recommend it. A lot of good dramas sometimes poop out at the end, but that was not the case for this drama at all. My only complaint would be that there were too many tears, acting tears, not my tears. However, it’s not a big deal because the awesome chemistry and bromance really pulls me in. Also, the amazing OST really ties the drama in perfectly. I have some songs on repeat currently.

Side note: I like its takes on crime and punishment and the belief of the almighty. 

Favorite Scene:

In my halfway review, I listed the Goblin and the Grim Reaper strutting to go save Eun Tak as one of my favorite scenes. So, I was absolutely giddy when I saw that the drama parodied itself. The drama recreated that scene, but added humor with the green onions and motorbike encounter.

Prediction:

If you read the halfway review, you will know that I made some predictions. Well, my guesses were completely off. I thought it was going to be a terribly sad ending, but it wasn’t. Oh wells, it concluded nicely though.

Thoughts on the Ending:

Why don’t we get to see an older version of Deok Hwa? I want to know what he is doing. Didn’t the ‘grandmother’ say that he was going to end up with a pretty girl? I thought it was going to be Ji Eun’s class president/friend. Why didn’t his story have an end? The scene with the secretary as an old man was such a hoot, so where’s Deok Hwa?

Now what kind of ending was that? Alright, I love the reincarnations of Sunny and the Grim Reaper. They were so cute. I hope they will be happy forever. If not, they at least get to grow old with one another. On the other hand, we go through a sort of “50 First Dates” as the Goblin who came back from the in between tries to get Eun Tak who has no memory of him to fall for him again. He succeeds, (YAY) but then she dies. FUCK! Okay, she then gets reincarnated. Therefore she will age, but he doesn’t, right? So, what does this mean? Will this become the story of the Goblin losing her and then waiting for her to be reincarnated for two more times since she’s on her second life now? In Twilight, Bella chose to be with a vampire instead of being the only one who grew old. That makes more sense to me. I don’t understand how Eun Tak and the Goblin will play out in the future. That confuses me because it tried. It tried to be a happy ending, but honestly, I don’t think so. Once Eun Tak’e four lives are up, the Goblin will return to being the title of the drama: the lonely and beautifully guardian since he can die. He gave up heaven for her. Therefore, it’s an utterly fitting ending for a drama with fairy tale aspects, but it’s not a happy ending. It’s very fitting though and the second pairing are happy.

koreandramagoblin-episode13-engsub6goblin-korean-dramagoblin3-01392

2 thoughts on “Asian drama review: “Goblin”

Leave a Reply

