Movie Review — Kingsman: The Secret Service

~ Movie Review — “Kingsman: The Secret Service” ~

                    Backstory: I have a friend who is in love with James Bond. His wedding theme was 007. That’s why I bought him “Kingsman: The Secret Service” DVD. We celebrated Friendsgiving at his house, so I suggested that we finally watch the movie. It was everyone”s first time except for me. All my friends really enjoyed the movie, and for me, it was still fun a second time.

Summary (from IMDb): A spy organization recruits an unrefined, but promising street kid into the agency’s ultra-competitive training program, just as a global threat emerges from a twisted tech genius.

kingsman-the-secret-service-team

Review: From the backstory paragraph, I’m sure you can guess that I liked the movie. It’s a genuinely entertaining movie. There’s action, humor, blood+gore, and just good set up/pay off. The cast is amazing with Colin Firth aka Mr. Darcy, Michael Caine aka Alfred, and Samuel L. Jackson who is seriously in everything. Samuel L. Jackson plays Valentine, the villain, and his lisp and clothing style undoubtedly gives his character that extra hilariously wicked edge. I love his ‘evil’ plan because it actually makes sense and comes from a place of reason. He’s not simply a mad man. He has thought it through. He is explained and justified. Anyways, The movie pays homage to old spy movies and is a bit of a parody while walking that fine line of still being a real movie perfectly.

Extras: The DVD obviously has behind the scenes stuff. We get the pick the minds of the director and co-screen writer. It was interesting what they decided to change from the comic book. I never read the comic book, but just listening to them, everything made sense. It is sort of like “Kick Ass”. If you like “Kick Ass”, then I think you’ll like this movie as well.

Conclusion: I heard there are talks of a second movie. I’m down. I wonder who will be able to come back for the second movie…
Good luck to the new (but not new anymore) actor, Taron Egerton. I wish him a successful career. My friend, Nicole, is in love with you and I watched “Eddie the Eagle” because of her/you. So, everyone! Go watch “Kingsman” if you haven’t seen it yet. However, if you have seen it, re-watch it and get pump for the next one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

