Book Review: The Great Gilly Hopkins

~ Book Review: The Great Gilly Hopkins by: Katherine Paterson ~

                    Backstory: If you have read my other posts, you will know that I love watching trailers. It is a bit of an obsession. Sometimes, when I watch an interesting trailer and find that the movie is based off of a book, I then want to read the book. That is how I stumbled on The Great Gilly Hopkins, and I don’t regret it one bit.

                    Summary (from Amazon): Gilly has been moving around foster homes for a long time now. She is brash, brilliant, and completely unmanageable, and that’s the way she likes it. So when Gilly is sent to live with the Trotters, a strange, fat lady, she decides to put her sharp mind to work and get out of there fast. Before long, she’s devised an elaborate scheme to get her real mother to come rescue her. Unfortunately, the plan doesn’t work out quite as she hoped it would.

                    Spoiler Free Review: First and foremost, Katherine Paterson is not a celebrated author for no reason. Her stories are packed with emotions, characterizations, and deep downloadthoughts. I love her. She sounds like an amazing woman who has lived a fascinating life. How cool would it be to meet her? Anyways, The Great Gilly Hopkins is a short read, but it delivers in the feels department. The hurt, anger, and loneliness that Gilly experiences is so unbelievably raw and relatable. Every single character: Trotters, Miss Harris, Mr. Randolph, William Ernest, etc feels extremely life-like. They are real, and we know them. I genuinely wanted to cry for Gilly at the end. My favorite part of this book is that it doesn’t wrap everything up nicely with a happy ending bow. It offers an ending that the story deserves and readers can sense as the honest truth. Who says children’s books can’t be a bit dark and depressing ? Who says children’s books can’t teach things while being a bit dark and depressing? This book defies that. I have to sat that there were some jargon that flew over my head, but other than that, I seriously have no complaints. I wholeheartedly recommend this book and all other works by Katherine Paterson.

                    Movie: After finishing the book, I re-watched the trailer. The trailer has a different vibe from the book. It still looks like a good movie, but I don’t know. Should I watch it? If anyone else have seen this movie, tell me what you think.

tggh_1sht_ref_f

 

Leave a Reply

