Blog Post 5: National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo)

November is going to be a busy month. I have a Japanese proficiency test in early December that I need to study for. Additionally, I am still working on finishing my novel, Evolvers. Currently, I am thirteen chapters deep. Plus, it’s Thanksgiving, and I have a friend visiting. There is a lot piling up, and I want to maintain my leisure activities such as reading and watching TV shows particularly finishing my goal of re-watching ‘Gilmore Girls’ before the Netflix special. To add to all of that, I still have regular life stuff such as work, sleep, and planning my vacation schedule for December which are time consuming. November will probably stress me out.  With that said, a new friend of mine recently asked if I was going to do NaNoWriMo. I saw this phrase pop up on WordPress after my friend asked me and decided to Google what it was all about. It seems interesting, but I don’t know if I have the time for it. If I do start it, I probably will not be able to keep it up. There are more important things to do right now. However, my friend made it seems like something we can do together and not really have to take seriously if other commitments get in the way. So, I am going to try NaNoWriMo. This is my first time, and I hope it will be a fun learning experience. For NaNoWriMo, I want to write something completely new that is not Evolvers. I am presently brainstorming. My friend and I have discussed how busy we both are, so we might cop out and do a short story instead of a full on novel. We shall see… Well, this is it: a new update on my life. Time to rejoin my friends and study for the Japanese proficiency test – wish me luck!

~~ I know it is only November, but Japan has already started with their Christmas lights hence my (truthfully, old) Christmas lights featured photo.

Leave a Reply

