Asian Drama Review: Scarlet Heart – Ryeo (Halfway)

Review: Scarlet Heart – Ryeo (halfway)

Backstory: High school me was totally obsessed with k-pop and Asian dramas. Truth! I put watching Asian dramas ahead of doing homework. It was still pretty strong freshmen year of college, but along the way, I got busy, developed new hobbies, and had more adult responsibilities. I still try to keep up here and there, but I don’t have the time to maintain the flame for this passion and ended up letting it dimly flicker. Watching a drama is a serious time commitment, and I want to have time for it. The last two k-dramas I watched from beginning to end were Reply 1997 and Heirs because of my love for Seo In Guk and Park Shin Hye / Lee Min Ho. After that, I started some other dramas, but I never found the time or will to finish. Currently, I am in a bit of a slump in life. What better way to get out of it than by diving into the world of k-dramas. To be honest, I am not a huge fan of period pieces. I’m not much of a history buff. Plus, it usually consist of too many characters and load of backstabbing that just rips away at my faint heart. However, I heard the Chinese version of this drama was quite awesome, so I’m sure this Korean version can only be better. Additionally, the cast has a lot of eye candy, so I decided why not and started watching.

Summary: Go Ha Jin, played by K-pop singer, IU, is a modern day woman who drowns and is then transported back in time to Goryeo Dynasty (in Korea). She wakes up as Hae Soo and is thrown into a love triangle between the 8th prince, Wang Wook, played by Kang Ha Neul and the 4th prince, Wang So, played by Lee Joon Ki. It’s already hard enough trying to survive in the kingdom as a 21st century girl, but add on the fight for the crown, betrayal, revenge, and heartbreak – it’s nearly impossible.

moon-lovers-scarlet-heart-ryeo-korean-drama

Review: This show is currently slated for 20 episodes, and we are a little past the halfway point (11 episodes). I’m loving it so far. It’s quite intriguing, but I’m not in love yet. The plot is moving along just fine. It’s a well developed love triangle. Lee Joon Ki is a veteran actor that commands presence. A simple look from him carries so much emotion whereas Kang Ha Neul fits this role so well. Also, how perfectly bad is the queen and 3rd prince. I love it. I have a tiny problem with IU constantly making her eyes big and doing this permanent shocked face, but she’s young and will grow. I don’t want to include any spoilers, but I’m pretty emotionally invested in this show. Everyone has scenes that is just breaking my heart. I look forward to seeing how they will wrap up all this drama. I’ll have a more in depth review for after I finish this drama.

scarlet-heart-ryeo-poster-3

Predictions: I hope that IU’s characters will be able to reunite and end up with the 4th prince in the “future”.. I don’t care who gets the throne. They can give it to the 3rd prince and have the kingdom fall while it’s in his hands and while Hae Soo and Wang So are safely in the “future”. The 3rd prince can marry Yeon Hwa before that, if he wants. I hope that the 13th prince can escape the kingdom somehow with Seohyun’s character (even though things look bad in the preview for episode 12). As for the 8th prince, I really don’t know what I want to happen to him. He can go to the “future” as well and sulk as he sees how happy Hae Soo and Wang So are. As for the astronomer, I want him to return to the “future”, but no longer as a bum. I want him to be rich and successful. Oh, he can be Wang So’s right hand man as Wang So presides over some huge, international company. Lastly, if I am allowed one death, I hope the queen dies. I don’t want some pansy poison death. She deserves something better/something worse. You get me?

EP 11: Episode 11 was an intense one. I can understand why the 8th prince did what he did. Sometimes, you have to put family first before love which is what he did even though it sucked. He can’t change what his sister did, and he cannot change the cards that his mother were dealt. With that said, can Hae Soo understand that Court Lady Oh saved her, so can she please start living well and staying out of trouble? But, of course not. She needs to continue your kind/reckless behavior.

moonlovers11-00600

One thought on “Asian Drama Review: Scarlet Heart – Ryeo (Halfway)

Leave a Reply

