Anime Review: Food Wars! Shokugeki no Soma 食戟のソーマ Season 2

~ Anime Review: Food Wars! Shokugeki no Soma 食戟のソーマ SEASON TWO ~

I remembering loving the first season of Shokugeki no Soma. The plot was fun, the ecchi animation was entertaining, the characters were all lovable, and it felt like something new and refreshing. Plus, the food looked delicious, and the over the top food tastings were hilarious. I really enjoyed season one and looked forward to season two.

Now with season two, it started off a bit slow. The Autumn Selection competition thing was a little boring initially, but it picked up after that. So, that’s good. Some cool new characters were introduced which kept the plot fascinating. Anywho, I liked that the winner was not the main character, though the reasoning was a bit bogus. We can’t have the main character win everything all the time because then it will become boring, right?

Overall, season two was amusing, but it lacked some things I enjoyed from season one. Soma is getting more mature and serious which is good, but I miss his funny arrogance. Moreover, there was less ecchi animation and the over the top food tastings were not as laughable especially if you cannot discern between the different (bad) Japanese accents. Also, with so much focus on the food competition and school, there wasn’t any furthering of any of the love lines which was a bit disappointing. Since some new characters were introduced, this lead to some old characters being shelved. One of my favorite characters is Erina, and she hardly shows up this season. Anyways, I was super excited to see Dojima make an appearance. He’s so hot. LOL! Plus, I was waiting for Soma’s father to show up, and when he did, I was expecting him to give more wisdom. So, it was a bit yay and aw.

Overall, season two ended on a good note. I will still watch season three when it comes out. I do think season one is a bit better than season two, but I still love the essence of this show. It is still refreshing and thoroughly entertaining.

Season_2_Promotion_Poster.png

2 thoughts on “Anime Review: Food Wars! Shokugeki no Soma 食戟のソーマ Season 2

  1. It’s a shame that Erina didn’t appear much. I guess they were focused more on the competition in this season. I’d really like to see the plot furthering, too (because, if I remember correctly, Erina knows Soma’s father. What was that all about, right? >.<) Thanks for your thoughts!

    Like

    1. I agree with you. I hope that the next season will further the plot along and we will get to see more Erina, Soma, and his dad. It will be interesting. I assume that Soma’s dad probably cooked for Erika and it was so delicious that she still remembers it and has like a school girl crush on him or what not. Well, we will have to wait and see.

      Like

Leave a Reply

