Book Review: Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy

~ Spoiler Free Review – Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy – By: Ally Carter ~

            Summary: The second book of the Gallagher Girls series, Cammie and her friends are back from winter vacation finishing up their sophomore year. After a semester of covert operation class, rule breaking, secret spying, and heartbreak, Cammie just wants the rest of the school year to be trouble free. However, that’s more than a bit difficult when you attend a spy school and know your mother is hiding something from you. Not to mention, you are being blamed for the code black security breach at school.

If you all remember, I just recently finished reading the first book of this series: I’d Tell You I Love You but Then I’ll Have to Kill You and really enjoyed it. I just had to get my hands on the second book, which I did. I finished it pretty quickly and am now in dire need to finish the entire series. I don’t want to finish it too quickly because I want to prolong the journey (truthfully, the books aren’t that long [when compared to the other books I read]).

Okay, okay, I have to admit that this book is predictable. There weren’t any big shocking moments, but I also have to understand that this book isn’t written for someone my age. Yet, none of that takes away from the fact that this book was amusing. Besides that, I liked everything. The greatest thing about this book is the characterization. All the Gallagher girls: Cammie, Bex, Liz, Macey, even Tina or Anna are all growing and developing right in front of our eyes. They seem like real teenagers going through life. Yeah, yeah, most of everything revolves around our protagonist, Cammie, and I would like to see more of the other girls, but this really is Cammie’s story to tell. Talking about characters, I absolutely adore the addition of Zach and would love to see him back in the next book.

I don’t have much to say besides this was an entertaining read, and I can’t wait to start the third book. It seems to get only better.

 

Leave a Reply

