Book Review: I’d Tell You I Love You But

IMG_3299[1].JPGSpoiler Free Review of I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You
By: Ally Carter

 

Summary: Cammie Morgan is a sophomore at Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women which may seem like a private school for rich girls, but it’s actually a spy school. By accident, Cammie meets a regular guy, Josh, and starts falling for him. But, how can she juggle a normal relationship with him while needing to hide everything about her spy life? Find out in I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You.

 

There was a period time when I wasn’t reading as many books because I was more focus on manga and Asian dramas, but I still kept my eye out for interesting YA covers or titles. One that I still remember is this book. I remember liking the title and finding the cover to be cute. Recently, I saw it while perusing a bookstore for a gift. I thought, why not, and bought the book to read.

First observation – this book is not long, possibly because books are longer now… Can anyone even prove that to even be true…? Anyways, I was able to quickly finish this book in less than a day.

Overall, this book is decent, fun, but not great. If you take this book too seriously, then I think you will find yourself being disappointed. It’s a light-hearted adventure with maybe one or two chapters trying to take a darker and more serious tone. Other than that, the book is a relaxing read and I found myself enjoying it. Yes, there are things that could have been done better such as the characterization of secondary characters, the development of the relationship between Cammie and Josh, and the removal of wordy set ups that did not help paint a picture of the setting for me at all. However, I liked the first person narration, the cheese, and the girlhood. It was entertaining hearing everything through a typical and well-layered protagonist. I liked that Cammie felt very much like a real teenage girl. I will definitely read the second book once I have the money to buy. Also, my – to read pile is huge. So, I want to finish more books from there before I buy anymore new books though I am genuinely interested in the second book in this Gallagher Girls series. I checked online and there are six books in total. Also, people in the comments say that the series does get better. Let’s see.

 

 

Leave a Reply

