Review: Book: The Mortal Instruments Book Two City of Ashes

~ Warning Spoilers: Book Review: The Mortal Instruments Book 2 City of Ashes, By: Cassandra Clare ~

I finished this book a while back, and it took me quite some time. I have to say that I was expecting more, but I heard that it gets better. So, I think I will continue reading the series, but I am in no rush. Anyways, I did set a goal for myself, and I am happy that I completed it. I was able to finish this book before season two of the show starts.

It is interesting reading this second book and seeing how the first season of the show drew from all over (first and second book) and really changed the timeline. I do enjoy the changes and additions the show made. I have to say – I think overall, the show is better. Yeah, there could be more chemistry between Clary and Jace on the show (there’s practically none!), but I find the show to be more enjoyable. I am not saying the show isn’t very clique and really predictable YA, but I like it.

I think my biggest problem with the book is how annoying Jace is. He doesn’t seem as arrogant and whiny on the show as he is in the book, but in this second book, he has passed confidence and has definitely hit cocky which is not attractive. Also, City of Ashes doesn’t focus much on the side characters which is sad since the main characters annoyed me so much. The whole I can’t because we are siblings but yet I want to because I am in love happening between Jace and Clary was vexing. It was all complaining and moping when it is so obvious they can’t be siblings and just dragging out this dumb plot line.

Plus, I did not like the whole scene of Clary and Luke discussing how Jace needs a father and how they thought Luke could step in as his father figure. UM? What?

The biggest reason or plot point as to why I think I like the show more than the book is because of Simon. OMG! His back story of him becoming a vampire in the show is way more entertaining than in the book. Who doesn’t love the introduction of Camila?

Talking about introductions of new characters, I have to say: I like Lydia Branwell a lot. I think she is a great addition to this world.

Yeah, I know, I know, the much slower love connection between Magnus and Alec is in the book and the hesitation in Alec resonates a lot more, but I think the show did an alright job with this change. Also, isn’t that some good casting?

Oh man, I was going to start this off by saying I did not have a lot to say about this book, but I guess I had more to say than I thought, though it is mostly comparing it to the show. I have more comparisons that I would like to go over, but let’s wait until after season two comes out.

They announced the actress who will be playing Maia. I am neither excited nor disappointed, but it’s whatever’s. I am instead anticipating how the whole boat fighting scene and seeing how it will play out. In addition, I am excited for the Seelie queen.

shadowhunters-tv-series-artwork-key-art-logoIMG_3102.JPG

2 thoughts on “Review: Book: The Mortal Instruments Book Two City of Ashes

Leave a Reply

