Review: Book: “The Selection”

~Spoiler Free Book Review – The Selection by: Kiera Cass~

*plot summary not included*

IMG_3073[1]I finished The Selection a few days ago. I have been wanting to read more YA books, and I wanted a love story. Plus, the book trailer looked nice, so I decided to give it a try.

I enjoyed the book quite a a bit, but I have to admit that at times it was a little cheesy. Then again, I am an adult still reading YA novels, so my opinions are somewhat jaded. I honestly found Aspen and American’s relationship to be kind of corny. Also, America was too much perfectly anti-system. It’s not a bad thing; it’s how modern female protagonist are nowadays though occasionally, it felt a tad forced.

To sum up the book, it is ‘The Bachelor’ set in a new world with a royal twist and political unrest in the backdrop. If you are interested in a righteous yet rebellious present-day poor teenager vying for the affections of a perfect prince along with 34 other girls in a competition called the selection while still onto these feelings for her first boyfriend whom just recently broke up with her, then read this book. It can be fun.

The cheesy attraction and cliche characters were not a problem. My only problem was the ending. I know this book is part of a trilogy turned series. That’s fine – trilogies are all the rage. However, it doesn’t matter if it’s part of a trilogy or a series, it’s still a book. And every book needs an ending! There is pretty much no ending to this book called The Selection. Technically, it ends with America choosing herself which will help with her love life decision. With that, America is ready to be part of the ‘selection’ but now as the title of the second book. Is that really an ending? I have no idea, but I don’t feel like it. Don’t get me wrong, I bought the second book right after reading the first. It is on its way along with the third. I was entertained even if I am shitting on it. Well, I hope I brought up some valid points.

One thought on “Review: Book: “The Selection”

Leave a Reply

