~Spoiler Free Book Review: The Mortal Instruments Book One City of Bones by Cassandra Clare (with some comparison to the TV show)~

*plot summary not included*

          I have been wanting to read these books for a while now, but I never got around to it. After watching the first season on Netflix, I have been patiently waiting for season two. While I wait, I decided to finally read the books. It took me a while to start and finish the first book. It is probably due to the fact that I have already seen the show and movie; therefore, I have spoiled the plot for myself. Though, later on in the book, my interest did start to peak.

          I have to admit that this book has everything a YA novel needs. I can see why it is so successful. Yet, there’s nothing particularly special about it because it’s very typical YA. This comment is coming from someone who is no longer a young adult reading young adult fiction. Please keep that in mind.

Having read this author’s fan-fic, I can see where some critics are coming from when they accuse her of writing the same plot/characters. Moreover, after these six books, there’s a prequel trilogy and a new future trilogy along with a lot of companion books. I understand that this ‘Shadowhunters’ world is well loved, but does there need to be that many books? I don’t know, but I’ll find out.

          When I compare this first book to the show, I realize that they are pretty different. The pacing has completely changed, and I actually think the show has better pacing than the book. Plus, the show’s dialogue is wittier than the book, but and this is major, the love connection between the main characters in the show is weak. Side note, the book is geekier than the show, and I respect that. I can go on, but then I will need to include more details (spoilers) and this would get too long.

          All in all, this world Cassandra Clare created is enormous and fun, but it could have been better. Then again, I have heard that the books do get better. I’ll keep reading, but I am in no rush.

          Furthermore, I’ll keep watching the show for Izzy and Malec. I wonder if it’s because something in the books fell flat which created a non-blockbuster movie and an average show. Well, in the end, I am still going to watch and slowly read.

IMG_3032[1]

 

