Review: Book: “Fangirl”

~Spoiler Free Book Review for Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell~

*plot summary not included*

          I absolutely love this book. I think the author did a fantastic job capturing the emotions young people/college kids go through. All the characters are extremely relatable in some way which makes them seem so real. This is especially true for me with the main character, Cath. I feel for Cath so much. Like her, I like fan-fiction and writing. Additionally, I wasn’t a crazy party kids in college.

          The book made me catch feels. I got really teary eyed when I got to the part of their father. Not going to lie, I am a daddy’s girl, and I really treasure the bond between a father and his daughter(s). In addition, I really like the introduction of the mother and how the resolution wasn’t a happy ending forced upon us.

          I like all of Cath’s relationships. There’s her sister, roommate, classmate, father, teacher, and of course, love interest. I loved it all. I also have a sister, so I like reading about the relationships between sisters. Quick side-note, my second favorite character (because the first is Cath) is Reagan. She’s too cool for words.

          Seriously, I think the really unique thing about this book is that there’s another story woven into it – Simon Snow. Passages of the ‘real book’ and ‘fan-fiction’ are sprinkled between chapters of Fangirl. It was a fun read.

          I totally recommend this book. However, if I can be nitpicky, my only compliant would be that I still had a few unanswered questions at the end such as what happens to Baz? Though, the version of the book I have includes a Q&A with the author, and she does answer this question. She also mentioned that she doesn’t know if she’s done with these characters yet. I’m happy with the book as is, but I wouldn’t mind more. I’m looking forward to reading more of Rainbow Powell’s books. I’m waiting for my order of Eleanor & Park, and when I have more money, I will buy Carry On.

          I want to end this review by saying – everyone should get their lives and read this book. ;P Also, here is a picture of my copy of the book and in the back is a story I am working on. =D
IMG_3044[1]

Leave a Reply

