~ Warning! Minor Spoilers! TV Show Review: “Bridgerton” Season 3 [Netflix 2024] ~

REVIEW

Although I loved the previous two seasons of “Bridgerton” and the spinoff, I was unsure how I would feel about Polin. I hate the concept of a person finally realizing their romantic feelings for a longtime friend they were never attracted to until someone else shows interest. It infuriates me when that person only discovers they have feelings once that friend, who is usually not conventionally attractive, is no longer fawning after them, which has been a habit for years. Nevertheless, I believe in the vision of Shondaland, and I anticipate it will be done right.  

Then, I was upset to learn that Netflix had the audacity to film such a short season and would split it in half to air in subsequent months. I don’t mind short seasons; they are easy to binge, and my hobby is binge-watching. Netflix practically created the concept of binge-watching and then decided to ruin this practice. I understand when people say viewers can simply wait for the show to finish airing to binge-watch. However, during the time span of parts one and two, spoilers are all over the internet. I cannot avoid social media.

Unfortunately, “Bridgerton” season three was lackluster. It was disappointing that Polin didn’t even carry their own supposed season; there was so much happening that Colin and Penelope did not feel like the main characters. In addition, during promotions, the sex scenes were highly raved over, but I found them kind of cringe, especially when you factor in the dialogue. Also, I read a comment that asked, “How did Benedict have more sexy times than Pen and Colin in Polin’s season?” Plus, Colin thwarting Pen and her writing career at every turn was a turnoff. At times, I did not see the love between them. Since that’s the case, the show should’ve given viewers a long honeymoon period to make up for the fighting and the lack of affection displayed. Instead, it ends with Pen quickly boring a son. I was sorely disappointed by this main relationship.

Moreover, a big plotline this season is Penelope’s identity as Lady Whistledown. Let’s be real: the reveal dragged.

Furthermore, didn’t the show make Eloise, a beloved character of mine, a bit villainous? Additionally, you cannot have me sympathize with Miss Cowper and then give her such a wretched end.  

Moving on to the other couples this season, Francesca was stunning, and I appreciated her relationship with Lord Kilmartin. However, I did not like that she checked out someone else blatantly right after getting married. I will never support a supposed romance story with a cheating plotline. I also don’t find it cute to fall for a partner’s relative. Next, there is Violet and Lady Danbury’s brother. I did not need this or the dispute between Lady Danbury and her brother. It gave me nothing. After that, there’s Kanthony; they were so sweet, but it felt like they were required to keep the audience.    

Truthfully, season three was a total letdown, and it was all over the place. The costumes weren’t as good either. Regardless, the PR and press were top-notch. The cast looked amazing walking the red carpet, and Polin did a great job making fans eat out of the palms of their hands during their interview circuit. Nicola Coughlan is such a stunning actress. 3.25/5